Scoring In IELTS

IELTS is designed to assess English language skills at all levels. Your total IELTS score will be a combination of the band scores from the four sections. You will receive IELTS scores based on each for the four skills on a band of 1 – 9, and you will also be awarded an overall band score. You can score whole (example 5.0, 6.0, 7.0) or half (example 5.5, 6.5, 7.5) bands in each part of the test. You need to have some idea about how the scoring pattern works to better understand how your IELTS score will be calculated.

The total test duration is 2 hours and 45 minutes

Here is the IELTS paper pattern

Section Score Range Mean*
Listening 1-9 6.2
Reading 1-9 5.8
Writing 1-9 5.6
Speaking 1-9 5.8
Total 0-9 5.9

IELTS score validity – Validity of IELTS scores is until two years after the date candidate took the exam on.

IELTS Result

You won't have long to wait for your results as IELTS test results are released online 13 calendar days after you sit for the test. You will receive an email when your scores are available. You can log into your IELTS account on the IELTS Results website to see your scores.